The 10th International Conference on Numerical Analysis in Engineering (NAE2017)

Hermes Hotel Banda Aceh

August 24, 2017 – August 25, 2017

Numerical analysis utilizing the advantage of the development of computer hardware and software has had an immerse impact in many fields of engineering in recent years as it can provide not only fast but also comprehensive solutions in engineering problems.

The 10th International Conference on Numerical Analysis in Engineering (NAE) 2017 offers a place and opportunities for researchers and engineers from academic, industries and other sectors to exchange their scientific and technological information. NAE 2017 is also provided for students to present their research papers. Best presenter and paper will be awarded.

The conferece is organized by University of Sumatera Utara, in cooperation with Toyohashi University of Technology (TUT), Toyohashi – Japan; JSME – ICTS (International Chapter for Indonesian Section); Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (UKM), Bangi, Kuala Lumpur – Malaysia; Badan Kejuruan Mesin - Persatuan Insinyur Indonesia (BKM-PII); Universitas Syiah Kuala (UNSYIAH); and other academic institutions in Japan.

Background: Materials, Science, and Engineering

The conference covers the following topics approached by the numerical or the experimental method (but not limited to):

  • Stress, strain and deformation analysis (linear, nonlinear, viscoelastic, viscoplastic, foams, seismic,etc)
  • Fracture analysis (fracture mechanics, fatigue, creep, etc)
  • Damage analysis
  • Engineering dynamics ( vibration, rotation of shaft, noise, multibody dynamics, etc)
  • Mechanical elements (gear, screw, welding, joint, bearing, etc)
  • Heat and mass transfer (heat transfer, combustion, refrigeration, chemical reaction, diffusion, etc)
  • Fluid dynamics ( laminar flow, turbulent flow, fluid machines,  drain, dam, irrigation, etc)
  • Material forming (metal, plastics, composite, etc)
  • Tribology (friction, lubrication, etc)
  • New algorithms for numerical analysis (Neural network, Genetic algorithm, Evolutionary algorithm, etc)
  • Computational method in engineering and science
  • FEM Application in Geotechnical and Structural Engineering
  • Artificial Intelligence Application in Engineering, such as Expert System, Pattern Recognition, Neural Network Genetic Algorithm, etc
  • Biomaterial and Biomechanics
  • Biomedical Engineering
  • Nano science and technology


Keynote Speakers:

  1. Prof. Yoshitake WADA (Kindai University)
  2. Prof. Ahmad Kamal Ariffin (Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia)

Honorary Board:

  1. Prof. H. Mohamad Nasir, Ph.D., Ak (Ministry of Research, Technology, and Higher Education Republic of Indonesia)
  2. Dr. Muhammad Dimyati  (Directorate General Empowerment on Research and Development, of Ministry of Reseach, Technology, and Higher Education Republic of Indonesia)
  3. Prof. Dr. Runtung, SH, M.Hum (Rector, University of Sumatera Utara (USU)
  4. Prof. Dr. Eng Samsul Rizal (Rector, UNSYIAH)
  5. Prof. Dr. Satrio Soemantri Brojonegoro (Visiting Professor of Toyohashi University of Technology
  6. Prof. Emeritus Masanori Kikuchi (Tokyo University of Science)

International Board:

  1. Prof. Emeritus Hiromi Homma (Toyohashi University of Technology)
  2. Prof. Emeritus Masanori Kikuchi (Tokyo University of Science)
  3. Prof. Masashi Daimaruya (Muroran Institute of Technology)
  4. Prof. Kikuo Kishimoto (Tokyo Institute of Technology)
  5. Prof. Yasuhiro Kanto (Ibaraki University)

Scientific Committee:

  1. Prof. Michihisa Koyama (Kyushu University)
  2. Prof. Emeritus Masanori Kikuchi (Tokyo University of Technology)
  3. Prof. Hideki Kawai (Muroran Institute of Technology)
  4. Prof. Bustami Syam (University of Sumatera Utara)
  5. Prof. Ahmad Kamal Ariffin (Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia)
  6. Prof. Yasunori Kikuchi (The University of Tokyo)
  7. Prof Dr. T.M Indra Mahlia (Universiti Tenaga Nasional, Malaysia)
  8. Assoc. Prof. Ing. Petr Valášek, Ph.D (Czech University of Life Sciences Prague)
  9. Assoc. Prof. Dr. Gürkan A. K. GÜRDİL (Ondokuz Mayis University, Turkey)
  10. Hasan Ozcan, Ph.D (Karabuk University, Turkey)
  11. Dr. Edward Halawa (Charles Darwin University, Australia)


Organizing Committee:

International Chair: Prof. Bustami Syam
Prof. Masanori Kikuchi
Prof. Ahmad Kamal Ariffin
Local Organizing Committee
Chairman:Dr. Eng. Himsar Ambarita
Co-chair:Dr. M. Sabri (Regular Session)
Dr. Bode (Student Session)
Dr. Ir. Mirza Irwansyah, MBA, MLA
Secretary:Dr. Eng. Taufik Bin Nur

Dr. Adi Setiawan
Dr. Emerson P. Sinulingga
Dr. Perwira M. Tarigan
Dr. -Ing. Ikhwansyah Isranuri
Dani Gunawan, ST., MT.

Secretariat:Yetti Utami
Supporting Staff:Firdus
Wahyu Hardiansyah
Anggia Murni


Contact Info:

Organizing Committee NAE 2017

The 10th International Conference on Numerical Analysis in Engineering (NAE2017)
Organized by Dept. of Mechanical Engineering, Faculty of Engineering, University of Sumatera Utara