International Conference of Nasopharyngeal Carcinoma

Conference Archives

1st International Conference of Nasopharyngeal Carcinoma

Universitas Sumatera Utara
Jalan Dr. T. Mansur No. 9, Kampus Padang Bulan, Medan, 20155, Sumatera Utara
Medan, ID

December 6, 2018 – December 7, 2018


Nasopharyngeal Carcinoma (NPC) is the most common malignant head and neck tumor in Indonesia. Nowadays, the management of NPC still becomes a problem. It happens because the etiology is still uncertain, early symptoms are not typical, and the location of the nasopharyngeal is hidden, so early diagnosis is often late.

The obstacles that usually faced in the handling NPC are most of the patients come at advanced stages (stage III and IV), some even come with a bad general condition. In addition NPC is known as a malignant tumor that has high potential to spread over the region and distant metastases. This situation caused the management of NPC to produce unsatisfactory results.

Considering above conditions, it is important to make a center of excellence that is specifically concerned regarding NPC. The 1st Center of Excellence for Nasopharyngeal Carcinoma of Universitas Sumatera Utara was formed with the aim to enhance the degree of science and increase the cooperation among experts. Beside that, this center of excellence also eager to devote themselves to the community by contributing in determining various ways of management and therapy. It is hoped that can be applied to help increasing public awareness which is expected to reduce the morbidity and mortality of this disease.

International Conference of Nasopharyngeal Carcinoma 2018 was initiated and organized by the Center of Excellence Nasopharyngeal Carcinoma Universitas Sumatera Utara. This event aimed at providing opportunity to present and share the most recent and innovations in Medical and Nasopharyngeal Carcinoma Research.

The Center of Excellence Nasopharyngeal Carcinoma Universitas Sumatera Utara is pleased to announce that The International Conference of Nasopharyngeal Carcinoma 2018 will be held in Medan, Indonesia on 6th-7th December 2018. This event will provide a forum for researchers, scientists, students and medical practitioners from both academia as well as industry to discuss, share, exchange and to extend their knowledge, view and experience of new advances in Nasopharyngeal Carcinoma Research.

We invite you to submit original research paper and case reports related to the conference’s topic and which have not been submitted or published by other conferences or journals. Submitted papers will be peer-reviewed and all accepted paper, which are presented in the International Conference of Nasopharyngeal Carcinoma, will be submitted to Publisher to be published.

Theme "Healthier & Happier Life with Better Understanding of Nasopharyngeal Carcinoma"

Keynote Speaker

Honorary Chair

  • Prof. Dr. Runtung, SH, M.Hum (Universitas Sumatera Utara Medan, Indonesia)
  • Prof. Dr. Ir. Rosmayati, MS (Universitas Sumatera Utara Medan, Indonesia)
  • Prof. Dr. dr. M. Fidel Ganis Siregar, M.Ked (OG). (Universitas Sumatera Utara Medan, Indonesia)
  • Drs. Mahyuddin K. M. Nasution, M.I.T., Ph.D. (Universitas Sumatera Utara Medan, Indonesia)
  • Prof. dr. Gontar Alamsyah Siregar, Sp.PD, KGEH (Universitas Sumatera Utara Medan, Indonesia)


International Board

  • Prof. Anne Wing-Mui Lee (The University of Hongkong Departement of Clinical Oncology)
  • Prof. Sheng Po Hao, MD, FICS (American Academy of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery, Taiwan)
  • Dr. Raymond King-Yin Tsang (The University of Hong Kong)
  • Dr. Lim Chwee Ming (National University Health System, Singapore)
  • Prof. Dennis Lo (Chinese University of Hong Kong)
  • Prof. Bing I. Tan (Antoni Van Leeuwenhoek , Netherlands Cancer Institute)


Organizing Commitee

Chair : Dr. dr. Farhat, M.Ked (ORL-HNS), Sp. T.H.T.K.L(K).,FICS
Liaison Chair : dr. Ashri Yudhistira, M.Ked(ORL-HNS), Sp. THTKL(K)
Local Committee
Chief : Dr. dr. Dina Keumala Sari, MG, Sp.GK
Co-Chief : dr. Kamal Basri, M.Ked(Surg), Sp.B(K) Onk.
Secretary : Dr. Nurfida Khairina Arrasyid, M.Kes
Treasurer : Ir. Yedi Suhaedi, M.Si.
: Rafika Suryani, SH.
Publicity/Publication Chair : Dr. Dewi Indah Sari Siregar, M.Ked(PK), Sp.PK
: dr. Mutiara Indah Sari, M.Kes
Scientific Committee
: dr. Marlinda Adham, Sp.THT-KL(K)
: Prof. dr. Bambang Hermani, Sp.T.H.T.K.L(K)
: Prof. Dr. dr. Widodo Ario Kentjono, Sp.T.H.T.K.L(K),FICS
: Prof. dr. Ramsi Lutan, Sp.T.H.T.K.L(K)
: Dr. dr. Farhat, M.Ked (ORL-HNS), Sp.T.H.T.K.L(K).,FICS
: Dr. Yussy Afriani Dewi, M.Kes., Sp.T.H.TK.L(K).,FICS
: dr. I Gde Ardika Nuaba, Sp.T.H.T.K.L(K).,FICS





View Conference Details